Young South Dakota Hunters Can Now Begin Hunting Safety Course At Home
Young aspiring hunters can now begin their hunter safety course in the comfort of their own home thanks to a new law passed by the South Dakota Game, Fish, and Parks department.
The new HuntSAFE program costs $15 but the regular classroom instruction is free for this part of the course. According to the SDGFP, it typically takes 4–6 hours to go through the online course, excluding quizzes/tests, and any re-studying that you may choose to do.
After passing the online portion hunters can participate in the one-on-one HuntSAFE field day and end with a written final exam.
South Dakota state law requires persons under 16-years old must complete hunter education.