Law enforcement officials in South Dakota have announced the September locations for sobriety checkpoints around the state.

After setting up 13 sobriety checkpoints in 11 different counties in August, the Department of Public Safety has announced plans to expand to 16 counties this month.

In a press release, the DPS outlined the counties impacted:

KIKN-FM / Kickin' Country 99.1/100.5 logo
Get our free mobile app


  • Beadle County
  • Brookings County
  • Brown County
  • Brule County
  • Butte County
  • Clay County
  • Codington County
  • Fall River County
  • Jackson County
  • Jerauld County
  • Lawrence County
  • Lincoln County
  • Minnehaha County
  • Pennington County
  • Roberts County
  • Walworth County

As is typical with these announcements, the exact dates, times, and locations of each checkpoint are not being disclosed.

The monthly checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

LOOK: Food history from the year you were born

From product innovations to major recalls, Stacker researched what happened in food history every year since 1921, according to news and government sources.

Sioux Falls' Most Underrated Restaurants

LOOK: Things from the year you were born that don't exist anymore

The iconic (and at times silly) toys, technologies, and electronics have been usurped since their grand entrance, either by advances in technology or breakthroughs in common sense. See how many things on this list trigger childhood memories—and which ones were here and gone so fast you missed them entirely.

More From KIKN-FM / Kickin' Country 99.1/100.5