Sioux Falls mayor Mike Huether has joined 275 mayors from 48 states in Mayors Against LGBT Discrimination. The group is a bipartisan coalition of city leaders working to securing inclusive nondiscrimination protections for all individuals at all levels of government. He is the first mayor from South Dakota to join the coalition.

“Protecting people equally and fighting against discrimination are American values, South Dakota values, and yes, Sioux Falls values. We have made gains in this effort, but we also have more work to do to ensure equal treatment for all people living in and visiting our great city,” Mayor Huether said in a statement.

Eighteen states and more than 200 cities across the U.S. have laws in place that prohibit discrimination in employment, housing, and public places based on sexual orientation or gender identity. While Sioux Falls City ordinance does not specifically identify sexual orientation or gender identity as protected classes, those discrimination cases can be filed with the City’s Human Relations Office under discrimination based on sex.

In a press release The City of Sioux Falls said it has taken steps to advance the cause against discrimination of our LGBT community members. Colleen Moran, Assistant City Attorney, has been appointed as the primary contact for all discrimination and harassment concerns for minority groups, the LGBT community, and others. City departments, such as Police and Fire Rescue, have received training specific to LGBT issues. The City provides protections for LGBT employees through executive orders and its insurance plans.

Mayors Against LGBT Discrimination was started in January 2017 at the U.S. Conference of Mayors winter meeting in Washington, DC. It is a program of Freedom for All Americans, the campaign to attain comprehensive LGBT nondiscrimination protections nationwide.

See Also:


More From KIKN-FM / Kickin' Country 99.1/100.5