Law enforcement officials in South Dakota have announced the September locations for sobriety checkpoints around the state.

After setting up sobriety checkpoints in 20 checkpoints in 19 counties in August, the Department of Public Safety is conducting 20 sobriety checkpoints in 15 counties during the month of September.

In a press release, the DPS outlined the counties impacted:

KIKN-FM / Kickin' Country 99.1/100.5 logo
Get our free mobile app


  • Beadle County
  • Charles Mix County
  • Clay County
  • Codington County
  • Day County
  • Edmunds County
  • Hughes County
  • Lake County
  • Lawrence County
  • Mellette County
  • Minnehaha County
  • Moody County
  • Pennington County
  • Stanley County
  • Walworth County

As is typical with these announcements, the exact dates, times, and locations of each checkpoint are not being disclosed. The monthly checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

LOOK: Food history from the year you were born

From product innovations to major recalls, Stacker researched what happened in food history every year since 1921, according to news and government sources.

Sioux Falls' Most Underrated Restaurants