State offices in nine western South Dakota counties are closed Monday because of a winter storm moving through the area.

The Governor's Office in Pierre says state offices in the West River counties of Butte, Corson, Dewey, Harding, Lawrence, Meade, Pennington, Perkins and Ziebach are closed.

State officials say they are monitoring the storm and evaluating whether more offices should be closed and when they might be reopened again.

People in that area who are planning to visit an office are being advised to call ahead to make sure the office will be open.