Friday was the filing deadline for candidacy in the April 8 elections.  Both the City of Sioux Falls and Sioux Falls Schools will be involved in this joint venture.  
The deadline came with quite a flurry of action at City Hall.  On Friday, current City Council member Greg Jamison turned in his petitions to join incumbent Mike Huether to run for Mayor.

Three candidates will run for the At-Large Council Member “A” slot.  Incumbent Rex Rolfing will be challenged by Manny Steele and Emmett Reistroffer.  At-Large Council Member “B” is an open seat that will have Christine Erickson and Denny Pierson vying for the spot.

In the District races, the Central incumbent Michelle Erpenbach will face a challenge from Rebecca Dunn.  Meanwhile, two challengers in Bonita Schwan and Rick Kiley will square off for the Southeast District seat.

The action in the Sioux Falls School Board section was quiet.  Only one seat will be up for election and current Board President Doug Morrison will be opposed by Roger Russell.  However there is one caveat with the schools.  The potential for a candidate to access a petition from the Secretary of State and mail the petition signatures remains.  Thus, Sioux Falls Schools will withhold an official candidate list until Monday at noon.